After a tense few rounds of audition in Kuala Lumpur, Penang and Miri, Asia New Star Model Contest has finally finalized the Top 30 models that will compete for the title of “Face of Malaysia 2016”.


The Top 30 finalists have to survive through five rounds of elimination based on their performances during the designated fashion shoot every week, in order to qualify themselves a ticket to the Grand Finale which will be held at Pavilion on April 182016. Two winners from the respective male and female categories will be selected at the Grand Finale and they will represent Malaysia to compete with models from 20 other Asian countries in the “Asia New Star Model Contest” in Korea.

The 30 finalists with the age range from 18 to 30 are mostly from Kuala Lumpur and only a few of them from other part of Malaysia. They are required to attend workshops with regards to skin care, hair care, hair styling and make up, as well as fitness classes and also catwalk classes throughout the contest period. Prior to the grand finale, they will be given different challenges during the photo shoots, two male and two female models with the least satisfactory performances will be eliminated in each round.


Asia New Star Model Contest is one of the key events of the Asia Model Festival (AMF) organised by Korea Model Association (KMA) which will be ushering its 11th year this year. The other two highlights of AMF are the ‘Asia Beauty Festival’ to promote the Asian Model, fashion, beauty and other related industries, and the ‘Asia Model Awards’ to acknowledge those who show stellar achievement and excellence in the industry related to fashion and beauty.

AMF will be held tentatively on May 19 to 21, 2016 at SUWON CITY in conjunction with the promotion of tourism by Korea Tourism Organization, with a fascinating line-up of programs including fashion shows, K-POP performances and other interesting activities. Aside from showcasing top models from 18 Asia countries, famous stars and celebrities, designers, builders will also be invited to the award ceremony.